A Bone for the Struggling Freelancer

Recently a few aspiring freelancers have contacted me asking for advice on networks, client acquisition, and requesting any bloodied and useful information I’ve amassed through trial-and-error. The questions flatter me because I don’t think I have my stuff together at all. That aside, I do have a pretty solid repository of digital tools and reflections that facilitated my freelancing.

I want to share them here with you.

1. UpWork. Previously known as eLance, UpWork is a common marketplace for freelancers of all kind and clients from around the world. The price-points are not competitive by US standards, but it really helped me build up my portfolio and get started. I was lucky enough to meet some great long-term clients there, which made up for not paying all the bills.

2. Freelance Writing Newsletter. Delivered straight to your inbox, a job board with freelance writing and editing opportunities from across the Internet. It recently came under new management so I’m unsure how the offerings will change, if at all.

3. Publisher’s Marketplace. A dedicated filter for editing- and publishing-related information. The site design leaves a lot to be desired, but, as the refrain goes, Don’t judge a book by it’s cover. It’s meaty with job positing, industry insights, and an assortment of other goodies.

4. LinkedIn Recruiters. I appreciate recruiters immensely. Maybe I have been lucky enough to work with great ones. Thanks to recruiters I secured good jobs, built a portfolio, learned about industry expectations, and felt supported in my journey to build a sustainable independent lifestyle.

5. Personal WritingLet’s say you haven’t succeeded in securing jobs. That isn’t a reason to neglect your craft. If you can’t build your portfolio with example jobs, then have examples of your own ready. It isn’t easy to do this when you feel down or pressured financially, but it’s a great way to show that you are passionate and skilled, and to nurture your blog, website, or social media pages.

Those are my tidbits. I tried to be brief. Please feel free to add your own tidbits below. Writers should stick together!

Photo credit to Hiveage

Leave a Reply

